Last Scout Hill

Hills were the first runs I ever did. Growing up in Oregon, I took off from my house right onto hills the whole way. The high school cross country team even proudly sported hoodies with the slogan, “What Hills?”

For these reasons, I’ve always generally enjoyed hills more than others. Surprisingly, hills have been the toughest part of summer training for me. Tonight was a step of encouragement. 

We ran our last workout on Scout Hill at a time limit of 35 minutes, the longest we’ve spent on that hill. Somehow, it felt like the best. I counted my reps and the time flew by–and it felt like such a relief compared to last week’s hill. 

Our coach told us at the end that if today felt even equally tough as a few weeks ago, we were making progress. It was hotter tonight and the workout was longer. I can’t wait to see how my times improve when the weather finally cools down.

Leave a Reply

