Speedwork, Abridged

Track nights really only exist to long distance runners to build speed for out "in the real world." That means we need to see results on our regular routes.

Tuesday night's run was supposed to be one mile intervals at the lake, but my sick day got in the way. I did an abridged version of my own tonight.

While I'm still chasing that sub 7 mile from earlier in the summer, I felt good out on the trail. Unlike the consistency of the track, the real world has elevation changes, turns and changing scenery. That made it harder to keep an even pace.

I'm still learning what fast will look like for me by the end of the summer (and again when it starts to cool down). In the meantime, I'm pushing myself and seeing what it feels like to give it my all then have to keep going.

Leave a Reply

