Not Quite 16

Training cycles tend to reach a point for me where the motivation is low but the miles are many. Running away from home can be either fun or overwhelming, particularly if it's hard to find a good route.

While traveling this past weekend, I faced the almost-daunting 16 miles on my training schedule. The time I spent stressing over a route and worrying about the cold temperatures was almost to equal to how long I would've spent running. Eventually I pushed myself out the door for a measly (and cold) three miles–not quite 16.

The clock and weather were against me, so my goal shifted from meeting the distance to just getting one foot in front of the other. I'm glad I made it out for a run, but I'm also a little embarrassed I chickened out so easily. Sweating it away in Beyoncé "Lemonade" yoga this evening helped cleanse some of the guilt. At the end of the day, it's about deciding to move forward.

Leave a Reply

